Tuesday, 23 October 2012

Blooms Taxonomy

Bloom's taxonomy was originally created by Benjamin Bloom for cataloguing and organizing commonly occuring levels of intellectual within the classroom. Bloom identified six levels that have become known as Blooms Taxonomy. The levels of Bloom's taxonomy, from lowest to highest, are: knowledge, comprehension, application, analysis, synthesis, and evaluation. It is vitally important that teachers teach students the lower order thinking skills whilst at the same time encouraging, teaching an challenging their students to also utilise the high order thinking skills as they develop the cognitive skills to do so. When students are evaluating and judging and using the higher order thinking skills they are more likely to retain information, perform better on standardized tests, and most importantly, achieve the ultimate goal of becoming lifelong learners. 

Pyramid Image of Blooms Taxonomy

Blooms Taxonomy Target Image

Blooms Taxonomy A4 Poster

Reference List

Waxler. A 2005. Article Alley. Cited 20.10.2012. URL: http://adamwaxler.articlealley.com/what-is-blooms-taxonomy-18775.html

No comments:

Post a Comment